Major rivers of Uttarakhand

Have you also learned that secret from the river; that there is no such thing as time?” That the river is everywhere at the same time, at the source and at the mouth, at the waterfall, at the ferry, at the current, in the ocean and in the mountains, everywhere and that the present only exists for it, not the shadow of the past nor the shadow of the future. Rivers have a lot to teach us only if one is willing to hear. We, in Uttarakhand, are blessed to have life(water) all around us in its purest form. So,here we are with you to give you and tell you about major rivers of Uttarakhand and along with their rivers map.

Here is the list of major rivers of Uttarakhand-


Alaknanda is formed by the confluence of Vishnu Ganga and Dhauli Ganga at Vishnu Prayag originating from the Glaciers of Badrinath and Kamet. Vishnu Ganga originates from Mana Pass and the Dhauli Ganga originates from Niti pass..

Alaknanda, Major rivers of Uttarakhand
Alaknanda, Malgaun

Other prominent rivers Nandakini that originates from Nandadevi glaciers joins Alaknanda at Nandaprayag and Pindar that originates from Pindar glaciers joins Alaknanda at Rudraprayag after covering a distance of 84 km. The total length of Alaknanda River from Badrinath to Deoprayag is 265 km.

Alaknanda, Rudraprayag


The legendary river Bhagirathi originates from Gaumukh, the Gangotri Glacier in the Northern slope of Trishul peak at the height of 5611 m.

 Bhagirathi river

The other tributaries like Bhilanganga and Jodhganga joins Bhagirathi before it joins river Alaknanda in Deoprayag and from there on wards the river conclusively called Ganga when it finally descends into the plains at Haridwar. The total length of Bhagirathi river from Gaumukh to Deoprayag is 238 km.

Ganga, Major rivers of Uttarakhand


The Kali river originates from Kuthyanti from Milam Glacier and joins Kalapani river coming from Mansarovar in Tibet. Later the river flows towards south west along the eastern border with Nepal. The other tributaries Darma, Gori Ganga and Sarju join it before it reaches the Kali Hill near Bramhdev. The kali river joins the Gori Ganga at Jauljibi [Jauljibi is also famous for the annual trade fair].

Kali river
Jauljibi,Gori Ganga and Kali

The area around Pancheshwar (small town situated in the bank of river Kali) is called Kali Kumaun. The Kali River is called Sharda as it leaves the foot hills and the Sharda river joins Ghagra before it finally merges into the holy river Ganga in the plains of Uttar Pradesh. The total length of Kali river from Lipulekh to Tanakpur is 244 km.


The Uttarakhand consist of two Ramganga rivers, i.e. eastern and western Ramganga, and both flows independently. The EASTERN RAMGANGA originates from hills of Nandakot. The other tributaries Jhakula and Sarju Joins it before it joins to river Kali.

Ramganga river
Ramganga at Thal

The WESTERN RAMGANGA originates from Dudatoli mountain ranges in Pauri Garwal district and enters into Nainital district before re entering in Pauri Garwal district. The river then flows through patali Dun and then turns south east before it enters the plains near Kalagarh fort and passes through Moradabad. The other tributaries Mandhul, Palain and Sona also joins it.


Yamuna is another holy river that originates from Yamunotri Glacier at a height of 6387 meters. On the south western slopes of  Bandar Punch Glaciers.

Yamnotri river

Tons River which flows along with the state boundary of Himanchal Pradesh joins Yamuna at Kalsi in UttarKashi district and there after enters the plains. Yamuna is the largest Tributary river of holy river Ganga. According to the Hindu mythology Yamuna is the daughter of Sun God (Surya), and sister of Yama(the God of death) hence also known as Yami and according to popular Legends , bathing in sacred water of the river frees one from torments of Death.

6. Pindar River:

The river emerges from the Pindari glacier and flows into the Alaknanda river at Karnprayag.

Pindar River, Rivers of Uttarakhand

Pindar river crosses and irrigates a number of tiny hamlets and towns such as Manmatti, Dewalo, Nandkeshri, Tharli, Kulsari, Bhagoli, Narayanbagar, Nauligaon and Nauti. The total length of Pindar river till it meets with Alaknanda is about 105 km.



CommentLuv badge